What’s On Your Mind?

It’s it funny how social networks are keen to know what’s on our minds, like they have a ready solution to them? And isn’t it more funny that we more often than not put up some random crap just so your status is not blank instead of what’s really on your mind? And seriously some things are best left to the mind not for public consumption.

 

I have got a lot of things on my mind really and I don’t really think Mark Zuckerberg really wants to hear them! Why would he, he has his own problems, do you think he is in a hurry to post it on Facebook?  

 

What’s on my mind? What of the fact that my country has just being ranked the 6th most dangerous place to live in Africa? Or the fact that sunday has been nicknamed ‘bomb day’ because of the incessant attacks on churches on sundays or the fact that it is dangerous to be christian in the north?

 

What of the fact that my country is ruled by mindless sharks who are just after their own selfish interest? What of the fact that universities admit millions and the government employ a few, where are the graduates supposed to go? What of the fact that our government consume millions everyday while the citizens can’t afford a steady meal?

 

What of the fact that for years Christians and Igbo people have been killed for fun and nobody has ever being brought to book? What of the fact that the country is on fire and those who are suppose to quell the fire, are the same people who are stoking the fire?

 

Oh I got a lot on my mind! What of the fact that I wish my life was a whole lot better? Or the fact that I know that my life would have been a lot better if my dad still drew breath? What of the fact that I am now the head of my family, but I am anything but? What of the fact that I wish everyday for a miracle for me and my family, everyday! What of the fact that I am so sad most of the time, but I gotta keep smiling, cos that’s what people want to see! Or the fact that I got no dime to my name except what NYSC pays me?!

 

Oh yea, what of the fact that the girl I like doesn’t like me back and it hurts like crap that I ain’t the guy who is suppose to make her wear that smile that I love so much! I guess there will be other girls, right?

 

The truth is when a person asks, ‘how are you?’ Or ‘what’s on your mind?’ most times they do not give a sh*t, they are just being polite. No one wants to hear your life story or what’s keeping you up at night, they just expect you to say ‘I am fine’ and move on.

 

So Mark, you ask what’s on my mind, well like all Facebookers ‘TGIF’

Leave a Reply

