BLACK MAMBA: DIARIES OF A KILLER chapter 4

I had become quite popular with some of the boys, a couple had asked me out which I had resisted. I figured if I was to get close to kill them off, I didn’t have to seem attached to a person. That would create a problem, because of the solidarity in the fraternity and the fact that betrayal wasn’t taken lightly.
I was planning my next hit and had zeroed in on a target; Collins. I picked him because he was easiest of my five targets and that was because he was a newbie, an ITJ. And his initiation is the reason, you are reading this. The catalyst behind my vengeful quest. For you to understand this, I have to tread a little into the past and relive some painful memories.

FLASH BACK

My dad was the Deputy Vice Chancellor (DVC) and being the pious man he was, had being vehemently against cultism, which didn’t exactly make him a popular person within the university environ, as the tentacles of cultism spread far and wide.
My father had studied abroad and understood the need for fraternities, but he never understood the insatiable need for blood. He hated to see young men waste away their lives because they belonged to something so vile, it should never have found its way into the tertiary institution. So he compiled a list, after thorough investigations of all members of the different cults and threatened to expose them.
There was raucous in the university. A great unrest, as many people; staff and students alike were afraid their names were listed. They tried to make my father disclose the contents of the list, but he refused having decided to send the list to the NUC; National University Council.
It was during this period that I came home, having just graduated from medical school. My parents had only two of us, my younger brother Nkem; who was sixteen at the time and was preparing to get into the university, my father had yet to decide if he would go abroad or not as he had lost faith in the Nigerian system. My parents were overjoyed about my achievement and dad was already taking about sending me abroad to further my studies.
We had a big family dinner to mark my graduation. I can remember I sat at that table thinking how lucky I was to have such a wonderful family.
We had just about finished dinner, when the house broke into commotion. Five armed men walked into our house and ordered us to lie down on the floor with our face to it and they didn’t even cover their face which was a foreboding sign that we might not get out of this alive. I was shaking, hysterical even. Before then I had never seen a gun in my life, closest I had been to a gun was in the movies. My father didn’t even own one.
They tied my dad up and sat him down in a chair facing us, ‘So you feel you can just waltz into a place and change an age old tradition, mm?’ The guy who seemed like their leader sneered.
‘I don’t know what you are talking about, but whatever it is leave my family out of it.’ My dad pleaded.
The leader guffawed, smacking my him across the face. ‘You messed with my family, what makes you think I won’t mess with yours?’
‘Please,’ my dad pleaded with them, ‘anything but let my family be!’
I wanted to die hearing my father plead with them. They made him seem less the man he was. From my position, I could hear Nkem whimpering and my mom trying so hard to console him, hot tears were rolling down my face and pooling near my cheek.
‘So where are the papers?’ The leader asked.
‘What papers?’ My dad asked, the agitation in his voice evident. Smack! A blow landed on his body.
‘Don’t play dumb with me! The papers; all the evidence and names of supposed cultists, I know you have it in the house.’
‘It is in the office.’
Smack! Another blow.’You think we are here for child’s play? Kill one of them so he’ll know we mean business.’ I heard my mom sob as the men went for her.
‘Please wait, I know where the paper is, I can get it for you.’ Said my mom getting up to go get the incriminating file.
‘Grace don’t do this! Grace please don’t do this!!’ My father pleaded, I could hear the pain, the hurt in his voice.
My mom didn’t seem to hear as a moment later she came back and handed said paper to the men.
The leader looked the paper through and asked. ‘Is that all?’
‘Yes that’s all, I swear.’
‘You are sure there are no other copies of these?’ He asked shoving the papers in my dad’s face.
‘There isn’t any, I swear.’
‘Get his laptop to be safe.’ He said to one of his cohorts, who left the room.
‘Now you have gotten all you wanted, please would you people leave. I promise me and my family won’t talk.’ My father said when the other guy returned with his laptop.
‘Yes I know, we are going to make certain of that.’ The leader said with a snicker and with that his boys pounced on us.
They took turns brutally raping my mom and I, my younger brother beaten within inches of his life and all the while they made sure my dad watched. I remember wishing I’d just die instead of seeing my family and I humiliated like we were. All around me were cries of pain and suffering, I could barely see as my face had taken one too many punches.
I managed to look around me and saw that my mother had passed out, Nkem was no better, he was covered in blood and my dad was still tied to the chair crying, a gun to his head. They wouldn’t let him look away. I thought about screaming but over the sound of the generator it would have being useless.
When they were done, their leader motioned a guy who could have not being much older than Nkem to come to him. I hadn’t seen him before only because he had all the while being hiding in the background. He was shaking like a leave in the harmattan wind.
‘Take this,’ the leader said handing him a gun, ‘shoot him, prove you have what it takes to be a Red. This is your stage prove your mettle.’ He gestured to my dad.
The gun shook so badly in the boy’s hand I was almost certain he would drop it. A minute passed and another and just as I thought he wouldn’t pull the trigger. A shot rang out and a bullet landed square in my dad’s chest. I whimpered as I watched my dad struggle to hold on to life and finally succumb to the cold hands of death.
‘Well done.’ He patted the boy on the back collecting the gun. ‘Finish them make we go, we done do late.’ He said looking at his watch.
Simultaneously I saw them shoot Nkem and my mom, then a shadow stood over me, there was a flash and then darkness.
I woke up months later, the doctors said it was a miracle that I was even awake as I had been in a coma for ten months and they were beginning to think that I was never going to wake up. They said it was even a miracle that I even survived having taken a bullet to the head. But I had woken, I had survived.
You know how with head injuries, one tends to forget, the doctors call it amnesia. Well I didn’t forget, I remembered everything that led to my waking up in a hospital bed. I remember my dad crying, helpless. I remember mom and Nkem shudder and die. I remember one too many blows connecting with my face. I remember praying to God to just by some miracle let me die as the men forced their selves on me and my mother. I remember their smirk, the stench of their breath as they lay on top of me, their dirty hands slithering all over me! Yes I remembered it all, as it haunted my dreams. I tried to forget but as soon as I closed my eye it was there.
I focused my energy on getting better, on getting my life back on track. I had to learn to walk again. Ten months and my legs had forgotten to walk, I wished my heart had forgotten to remember too. The medical team was great with my rehabilitation and my uncle Sam was extremely helpful too.
My uncle Sam had being the one who found us, he made a house call and found us in a pool of our own blood. My folks were pronounced dead on the scene and I was rushed to the hospital. After a twelve hour surgery I was out of the woods but not completely.
Uncle Sam said that though he had pointed the investigators to the right direction, they had yet to make any meaningful arrest.
Superintendent Bello had being in charge of the investigation and every time he asked him about the investigation, he appeared very evasive. He provided very valuable informations from what I told him I recalled from that night and our attackers but he waved them aside as nothing. I was frustrated and I needed justice, but there was nowhere to begin.
I had all this informations but nothing to do with them! I knew Bello could find the men who tore my life apart but for an unforeseen reason had chosen not to pursue any leads. I was soon to learn why. Something happened that finally pushed me to finally seek justice. One day as I was going to the police station to meet superintendent Bello as I had grown tired of waiting, I saw him in his car with one of the killers. They were having a heated conversation, after which the man handed Bello an envelope. On instinct I followed the man to the park where he boarded a bus which I also boarded without his notice. The bus stopped at Owerri in Imo state, where I followed him from a safe distance to a beer parlor and alas there they were, every member of the gang who were responsible for the death of my family, wining and dining without a care in the world! Further investigation revealed that they were students of the state university and they indeed very popular.
When I was satisfied I had all the information I needed, I headed back to Awka. I knew I couldn’t go to the police, not with people of Bello’s calibre there. I knew the responsibility had fallen on me to avenge my family and I knew it was gonna take a lot of planning and execution.
I went into hiding, afraid for my life, afraid that they might come back for me. With my uncle’s help I took self defense classes which he thought was good for me, if only he knew what I had in mind! I prepared myself physically and mentally, I resigned myself to the fact that those vermins must be wiped out even if I died doing it.
Another 6 months later, without Uncle Sam’s knowledge I left Awka for Owerri, with a new do and a new attitude. I was going for my revenge.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

