DUMEBI: KILL ME DIE

I had a sit down with the delectable beauty Dumebi and she talked about her life in the music industry. Here is what she had to say:

How long have you been in the music industry?
I have been in the industry for two years now, since i released my debut single ‘Selense’ in 2011 november.

Wow, so how long have you been singing?
I have been singing since i was 8years old and I was in the church choir while I was in the university.  

What inspires your music?
The situation of things around me influences my music, my emotions, and the passion for all round good music and of course listening to music done by other legends also inspire me.                                                                                
Do you have a role model in the music industry?
I have, Whitney Houston is my greatest role model. I grew up listening to her and grew to admire her and she is still one of my biggest inspirations till date.          

It must have shocked you when you heard of her death a couple of years ago, how did you feel about it?
It was very shocking and unexpected, I felt like I had lost a relative of mine.. But her memory lives on and to me she is forever alive.

What has your experience in the industry been like?                   
Its been quite an experience, challenging and rewarding at the same time. A lot of events have sharpened my creativity and shaped me into becoming a better artiste and person                                                                                  
You recorded a song for a movie recently, tell us about that.
My latest song, SUNSET IN PARADISE which was used as the original movie soundtrack for a Nollywood movie: MURDER AT PRIME SUITES which premiered in August 2013. It was another achievement for me in the course of my musical career. I enjoyed the experience because it pushed me towards breaking boundaries and exploring my true capacities. The song being a philosophical one and also in the ‘soul music’ genre was a very welcome challenge which gave me the opportunity to do something  unique and different from the norm.                                                                                                        
What is the biggest challenge you have faced thus far?
I have experienced a lot of ups and downs in my journey so far. But to speak of the most challenging is the uphill task most upcomers in the industry face. Being an independent and unsigned artiste, there are a lot you have a lot on your plate to juggle. You practically have to make things work until you get to a certain level because there really is not much of a defined structure in our industry. But that apart, its been a totally rewarding experience because my passion for music keeps me going.                        

HERE IS ANOTHER OF HER HIT SONGS, SHE TITLES IT ‘KILL ME DIE

More pictures of Dumebi.

oaryra

Leave a Reply

